SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Sunday Dinner with Beancooker
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sunday Dinner with Beancooker Login/Join 
Alea iacta est
Picture of Beancooker
posted
Okay, I’m going out in a limb here. I cook a lot. I have spent a few years in my more youthful days working in some pretty amazing restaurants. I have been a personal chef for a doctor, and constantly get ideas and inspiration from a best friend who is an ex chef, and director of culinary whatever for a state college.
I figure it would be fun to do a Sunday dinner recipe with everyone.

This evening’s recipe:
Espelette Pork Tenderloins
Piperade

If Espelette powder isn’t readily available, you can use paprika. Preferably a smoked sweet paprika. But Espelette has a very unique flavor that is unlike any other chili powder.

Pork
A few pork steaks
2 tbsp Espelette powder/flake
1/2 tsp cumin
1 tsp salt (sea, not Morton fine) if using Morton fine, 1/2 tsp.
2 tbsp dried oregano
20 or so fresh sage leaves
4 garlic cloves finely minced
1.5 tsp thyme
1/4 cup olive oil

So to start off, get a pork tenderloin and slice it into boneless chops. About 3/4” thick. Beat those with a Tenderizing hammer until about 7mm. We all know how thick a 9mm is, so 3/4 if that, roughly.

Heat olive oil in a saucepan until hot, add Espelette, and cumin. Cook on medium heat for 5 min it so. Do not blacken this. It should be red and beautiful.
Cool to room temp. Add garlic, thyme, oregano, sage, and salt. Once well incorporated, put in a glass dish and throw in the pig. Mix and bathe the piglet in the marinade. Once fully covered, refrigerate for 2-5 hours.

Piperade:
2 tsp Espelette
1/16 tsp if fennel pollen (3/4 tsp fennel powder if pollen isn’t available)
1.5 tsp coriander
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
2 eggs
2 green bell peppers
4 tomatoes
1 medium onion
1/4 cup olive oil
2 cloves garlic
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 stick butter sliced finely