SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Fellow Math Nerds - Can You Do Modern 4th Grade Math?
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fellow Math Nerds - Can You Do Modern 4th Grade Math? Login/Join 
Drill Here, Drill Now
Picture of tatortodd
posted
One of the kiddos in the cul-d-sac is in 4th grade and had the following homework question. Her engineer father usually helps with math homework and was scratching his head. Her accountant mother was scratching her head.

I'm an engineer and used to ruin the curve for everyone else in math so I looked at it. It gave me Tourrette's. The real answer is simple but the "new math" is idiotic.

Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity

DISCLAIMER: These are the author's own personal views and do not represent the views of the author's employer.

Posts: 23662 | Location: Northern Suburbs of Houston | Registered: November 14, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of P250UA5
posted Hide Post
Confused
Accounting degree here, had me stumped.

The Enemy's gate is down.

Posts: 15983 | Location: Spring, TX | Registered: July 11, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Anarion
posted Hide Post
The correct answer is:
"My father thinks you've lost your ever lovin' mind."

==============================
On the fields of friendly strife are sown the seeds that on other days and other fields will bear the fruits of victory.
Gen. Douglas MacArthur

Posts: 3106 | Location: Houston | Registered: December 09, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of vthoky
posted Hide Post
Engineer here… not a guess on that.

God bless America.

Posts: 13867 | Location: Frog Level Yacht Club | Registered: July 15, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Peace through
superior firepower
Picture of parabellum
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by scratchy:
The correct answer is " cake trays are racist/sexist/whateverist"
Class?