SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Who else has made the switch to progressive eyewear?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Who else has made the switch to progressive eyewear? Login/Join 
His diet consists of black
coffee, and sarcasm.
Picture of egregore
posted Hide Post
They weren't for me, but my situation may not apply to everyone. The close-up lens in a progressive is typically on the bottom. This is fine for reading a book or something where you look down at it, but in my work I often need to look up at things in tight quarters, for example, under a dashboard. So I just use cheap reading glasses (3 for about $10 at Wal-Mart, which lets me keep a set at work, at home and in my car) for when I need close work.

Posts: 28019 | Location: Johnson City, TN | Registered: April 28, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I've been wearing glasses for about 50 years (I am almost 58). In addition, my father was an Optician who owned his own company. He sold his company many years ago but I learned a lot from him. I have a very heavy correction, nearly -9 diopters.

I've been wearing progressives for about 10 years or so, and I love them. A couple of key things to keep in mind:

1) Deal with an Optician in a brick and mortar shop. You can get away with mail order for single-vision, but for progressives, fit is CRITICAL. Also, proper measurement of distance between pupils.

2) Buy a frame appropriate for your correction and for progressive lenses. A frame with a very small lens is going to be very difficult to fit, and difficult to maintain in a proper position after you leave the store, and go through the typical wear and tear glasses take. A good optician will guide you.