SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Shade Tree Q/A - Help Pick/Plant new tree(s)
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Shade Tree Q/A - Help Pick/Plant new tree(s) Login/Join 
McNoob
Picture of xantom
posted
My house is located on a small lot. I have 5 large mature 45 year old pines to far west of my lot. Between those and my house are 1 Silver Maple, and 2 Ash trees. All about 40 years old. Pines are all in line north to south, and the maple and ash are as well. The maple is far north. Our deck faces west, and is shaded mainly by the ash and maple trees. The southernmost ash is beat up somewhat, been hit by lightning and lost a large limb but it still leaves out every year. The ash bore beetle is in our region as of last fall. I have been treating my ash trees for the last 4 years, and I have no sign the bug yet. I am concerned that the Ashes are likely to be taken by this bug and just want to plan for worst case scenario. I would like to start planting shade trees to replace the ash trees.

I want a quick growing tree that will provide shade for our deck and house. I am thinking northern red oak possibly. Our silver maple is nice but the amount of helicopters it drops every year is crazy. I would like to avoid that if possible. I would consider removing the ash tree but would prefer to leave it until I have to remove it. I would also consider having a more mature tree brought in and transplanted in my lawn if feasible. I can provide pictures of my lawn if that will help. What trees would you suggest and why?

This message has been edited. Last edited by: xantom,

"We've done four already, but now we're steady..."

Posts: 1732 | Location: MN | Registered: November 20, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Ammoholic
Picture of Skins2881
posted Hide Post
FYI my tree guy said maples will leaf out and continue to grow even as they die. I was surprised to see the huge cavity inside of it.

Jesse

Sic Semper Tyrannis