SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Coaching a blow out game ***update on page 2***
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Coaching a blow out game ***update on page 2*** Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
I’ve been a coach at a relatively high level for the past 26 years. Blown other teams out and had the brakes beat off my teams, both more times than I can count. Sometimes you’re that much better than the other team and sometimes they’re that much better than you. Life isn’t fair that way sometimes.

I doubt 8-9yr old soccer players who still huddle the ball will have any clue as to how to implement a game plan to stop a good team. You’d be wasting your time (and the kids’) trying to implement one if you tried it. Stick with what you’ve been doing and be true to it. If you lose, so be it. Losing is part of life, even at 8/9 years old and frankly, the kids will forget about it in 30 minutes anyway.

The only ones who’ll make a bigger deal out of it than it is are the psychopathic parents anyway.

Posts: 246 | Location: Damn it's hot! | Registered: September 05, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Needs a check up
from the neck up
Picture of Timdogg6
posted Hide Post
Try this one, great for that age. Bring glo sticks to the game. After you get your asses kicked, everyone has a chem stick. Tell them they all get to think about that loss as long as that chem stick is glowing, when it goes out, that game is over and you think about the next one. Then as a team, they all crack them and shake them. They go home with a little light sticky and are happy but tomorrow it is out and they have to move one.
Make what ever life inspiring speech you want. but 8 year olds like light sticks!