SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I think it is time for my own domain...
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I think it is time for my own domain... Login/Join 
posted
All,

My apologies if this has been discussed previously.

I think I am in need of my own hosted domain with e-mail services. There are several companies out there that provide these services, but I am an absolute noob and am not familiar with any of them.

Can any of you "in the know" recommend 1 or 2 providers that you have used with success for a family or small business type application?

In all, I would probably only need 5 (7 max) e-mail addresses.

Again, this is all new to me, so forgive me if ask any stupid questions.

Thanks in advance,

The "Boz"

Posts: 1531 | Location: Central Ohio, USA | Registered: May 29, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
אַרְיֵה
Picture of V-Tail
posted Hide Post
Inexpensive way to do it: Pay twelve bucks a year to Google Domains, to register your own domain, for example, TheBoz.com

Then create email addresses like user1@TheBoz.com and set that email address to forward to a mailbox that you already have.

I do this with my small business -- I registered the domain name and created email addresses at that domain that just forward to my iCloud email account.

This way I do not pay for mailboxes at a hosted domain service, my only cost is $12 / year to "own" the domain name.

הרחפת שלי מלאה בצלופחים

Posts: 30659 | Location: Central Florida, Orlando area | Registered: January 03, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Fire begets Fire
Picture of SIGnified
posted Hide Post
AWS is $6/yr for domain hosting iirc

"Pacifism is a shifty doctrine under which a man accepts the benefits of the social group without being willing to pay - and claims a halo for his dishonesty."
~Robert A. Heinlein

Posts: 26756 | Location: dughouse | Registered: February 04, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Peace through
superior firepower
Picture of parabellum