SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Need Welding Advice
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need Welding Advice Login/Join 
quarter MOA visionary
Picture of smschulz
posted
I had new SS headers, mufflers, cats and tailpipes put on my truck (had cracked exhaust manifold).
It was done at a 4wd shop not a muffler shop.

I want to eliminate where they used clamps and have it welded (has some exhaust leaks albeit minor on the clamps).
I am thinking it should be a TIG weld but I am no expert.
I want it to seal well and look decent if possible.
I have a MIG welder but no lift anyway.
Also I am a shitty welder. Frown
Maybe some day I will learn. Smile

Is this the best type to 'request' (TIG) or something else and will a muffler shop be able to do it or some other place?
Also do they have to take it down to weld ~ not that hard to take down but does take some time and I assume it will cost more.?

Posts: 23186 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: June 11, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Woke up today..
Great day!
posted Hide Post
Tig will look the best but you can mig SS if you are a good welder but it likely won't look as good. They will need access around the welds. The Tig welders I have seen were much smaller and easier to access tight areas.

Posts: 1823 | Location: Chicagoland | Registered: December 10, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Go Vols!
Picture of Oz_Shadow
posted Hide Post
Take it to the muffler shop the local muscle cars go to and call it a day. I’ve mig welded a lot of thin stainless tube. It’s extremely easy to burn through. Tig is probably what they will use.

Posts: 17944 | Location: SE Michigan | Registered: February 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Find someone competent and let them pick the method.

“So in war, the way is to avoid what is strong, and strike at what is weak.”

Posts: 11159 | Registered: October 14, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Just because you can,
doesn't mean you should