SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Which free DAW(s) for new audio interface?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which free DAW(s) for new audio interface? Login/Join 
posted
Have just acquired Focusrite 18i8 3rd Gen audio interface. I am completely new to the whole idea. Came about because I wanted a way to use my xlr mics with a webcam for zoom conferences, and learned that you need an audio interface to do so. Would not have gotten one, or one this capable and versatile, if it weren't for the fact I also play music, and figured I would enjoy using it to record myself and friends.

Enter the DAW. Unit comes with a couple of options in the software bundle, but I know there are lots out there. A bewildering number, in fact. Any knowledgeable audio/musical sorts here care to make suggestions? Ease of use would be a good thing, as I am somewhat tech-challenged. I did my last musical recording on a reel-to-reel tape deck (when I wanted better than my cassette deck), to give you an idea of my background.

I do have midi keyboard, and the 18i8 has loopback, so DAW(s) that utilize those would be good, too.

I want to start with free, because it will probably have way more than I'm capable of using to begin with; I can pay for more later if I know what I'm doing and need something free does not give me. TIA.

Posts: 2695 | Registered: November 02, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
W07VH5
Picture of mark123
posted Hide Post
Cakewalk by BandLab is the one I’m currently using.

Posts: 45401 | Location: Pennsyltucky | Registered: December 05, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by mark123:

That's one I'm looking at. You like it, I guess? Easy to use?

posted Hide Post
Further question: There's no reason one can't download and switch around among several, is there? I think the Scarlett would let you select from a list, right?

Picture of maladat
posted Hide Post