SIGforum
Anyone make the roux for their gumbo in the oven?

This topic can be found at:
https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/320601935/m/3980028224

April 16, 2017, 11:14 PM
Sportshooter
Anyone make the roux for their gumbo in the oven?
I followed a fellow's roux making method of baking the flour for 20 minutes at 350F in the oven. The flour still looked white until mixed with the oil. The color wasn't very dark and that bothered me. It tasted OK, but I may have been hungrier than usual. Has anyone else used the oven method and got a dark chocolate colored roux?
April 16, 2017, 11:21 PM
PASig
We used to make brown roux for brown gravy in the oven when I was a cook in the Army.

We used melted shortening and flour in a large roasting pan and baked it 375-400 stirring with a whisk regularly. The key was to start with a thin layer of the raw roux and the constant stirring.

April 16, 2017, 11:30 PM
flesheatingvirus
I think it's easier on the stove top. I get mine pretty dark.

-- Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past me I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain. --
April 16, 2017, 11:59 PM
zoom6zoom
The longer you leave it in the oven the darker it will get.
The advantage is that it doesn't need to be watched as closely. If you're trying to do a dark roux on the stove, you gotta watch it like a hawk once it starts getting dark.

I have my own style of humor. I call it Snarkasm.
April 17, 2017, 04:51 AM
Apphunter
I usually make it in the oven. It takes about an hour and gives me time to do all my prep work.
April 17, 2017, 08:26 AM
ShouldBFishin
I've not tried it yet, but ATK just had an episode where they toasted the flour in the oven at 425 to make a roux.

America's Test Kitchen - Big Easy Favorites
April 17, 2017, 09:15 AM
FRANKT
Uh, no.