SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    search engine keeps resetting to yahoo
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

search engine keeps resetting to yahoo Login/Join 
Just for the
hell of it
Picture of comet24
posted
I've been using macs for 10-15 years so my knowledge base on Windows is dated and could use some help. I've googled the heck out of this and nothing I do lasts after a restart/shutdown.

I have a Lenovo Ideapad running Windows 11 Home. It defaults my search engine to Yahoo after a restart. I can change it to Google or whatever but it reverts back to Yahoo every time I turn off and start back up. This is on the Chrome browser.

I change it by going to the three dots upper right > settings > Search Engine > manage search engine to change it.

I would be happy to get rid of Yahoo forever but mostly I just need the search engine I pick to stay and not default to Yahoo every time I restart.

Because in the end, you won’t remember the time you spent working in the office or mowing your lawn. Climb that goddamn mountain. Jack Kerouac

Posts: 16413 | Registered: March 27, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Frangas non Flectes
Picture of P220 Smudge
posted Hide Post
Kinda sounds like some malware to me. At least, that's what I'd be looking at with that kind of behavior.

At the very least, I'd recommend trying out Brave Browser.

Posts: 17224 | Location: Sonoran Desert | Registered: February 10, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
in chrome settings: where you select "google search", also check/select what to open on startup.

Posts: 2221 | Registered: October 17, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Just for the
hell of it
Picture of comet24
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by airbubba:
in chrome settings: where you select "google search", also check/select what to open on startup.

I don't see the option open at startup.