SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Frank's Red hot - levels?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Frank's Red hot - levels? Login/Join 
Picture of konata88
posted
I picked up a bottle at the market. I've never tried it before - my first bottle. I've been using Secret Aardvark habanero recently - tasty and has some kick. Can trigger a sweat if I eat too much.

I got the Original. I didn't know there were different levels. The Original is not spicy at all; not even Tabasco level. It is pretty tasty and has a nice but mild vinegar kick. But not very spicy at all.

I'm going to look for different levels next time I'm at the market. Seems like they have 3 levels above Original.

Do they get hot very quickly? Or should I just go for the hottest level off the bat? Right now, I could drink the Original and not really feel it - very mild for me. I don't want pain but at the very least, I should feel that this is a spicy sauce. Buffalo is a level above but buffalo wings are not something I generally consider spicy either.

Trying it because of comments by others here and elsewhere - otherwise, I'm actually pretty happy with the Secret Aardvark.

Aside: one way I enjoy Secret Aardvark is mixing some with some brown sugar, rice vinegar, soy sauce and sesame oil as a dipping sauce for gyoza / potstickers.

"Wrong does not cease to be wrong because the majority share in it." L.Tolstoy
"A government is just a body of people, usually, notably, ungoverned." Shepherd Book

Posts: 12761 | Location: In the gilded cage | Registered: December 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
To me, Franks is a Louisiana style hot sauce, not much heat and the use of vinegar. I could go through a bottle in a day or two depending on the chow.

https://www.franksredhot.com/en-us

I turn to Sriracha hot sauce for a little heat. Good stuff, make my eyes sweat and nose run.