SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Lawn sprinklers
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lawn sprinklers Login/Join 
Master of one hand
pistol shooting
Picture of Hamden106
posted
Anyone here know the pipe details on sprinkler systems? I am going to water my new (last fall) sod yard with a new pump on my shallow well. There is plenty of water from the shallow well. I measured 15 gal/min from the old pump.
I need to install about 80-90 ft of line from the pump to the start of the sprinkler pattern. The pump is a 3/4hp wit 1 1/4 suction and 1" outlet. The pump data says it will do 16gpm

What size pvc should I use for the 80-90ft run without losing much water supplied to the far end?

SIGnature
NRA Benefactor CMP Pistol Distinguished

Posts: 6410 | Location: Oregon | Registered: September 01, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm not a pro but have installed underground sprinklers at several of our properties over the years.
I usually run a 1" PVC Sch 40 pipe to the solenoids and then run 3/4" sch 40 pressure to the heads. I usually do all the work myself and 10' sticks of pipe is just easier for me to work with than 50-100' coils of piping...almost all the pro's around here will run 3/4" poly piping in ground around here though.
I'm just finishing up sprinklers around the house and used the 3/4" underground and have 4 Orbit gear drive sprinklers per zone and have PLENTY of pressure.

Posts: 1890 | Location: Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri | Registered: August 03, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Go with 1" minumum for the feeder run. Anything less would create too much drag/flow reduction.

Posts: 464 | Location: NC | Registered: March 23, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
1" for the run. You could knock it down to 3/4" for branch lines, but all branch lines would need to be 3/4" or you'd get uneven flow.

Posts: 21417 | Registered: June 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Age Quod Agis