SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Medical records
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Medical records Login/Join 
Republican in training
Picture of DonDraper
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by gjgalligan:
I see now that info is is recorded on computers.
Is the info just recorded just kept on site or entered in a big database?
If I go to a new doctor can they access all past info or do they have request it from past doctor(s)?

It's typically all in a big database. This might be on site at the hospital, or hosted by the EMR vendor somewhere.

Google "Meaningful Use".

I've been assisting with writing your medical data to disk for the last 17 years. We used to host the Cerner EMR in house, now it's hosted at/by Cerner in Kansas City. We just combined with another large hospital system, and they run Epic. We will eventually convert the Cerner side to Epic and at that time the entire huge hospital system's EMR will be hosted by Epic. I would love to see them try and revert to paper now though... Big Grin

--------------------
I like Sigs and HK's, and maybe Glocks

Posts: 2274 | Location: SC | Registered: March 16, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
For some reason, EMR seems particularly prone to errors. A friend requested a copy of his discharge summary from a recent hospital. It described several things in his history that were totally false including a history of heart attacks. A printout I was given of my recent visits to a doctor described my weight as 275 lbs. While I am overweight, I'm not THAT overweight. If you wonder why your doctor spends less time with you now, it's because that time is now spent uploading your information into a computer, all at the insistence of non-medical bureaucrats.

Posts: 2560 | Location: Central Virginia | Registered: July 20, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Something wild
is loose
Picture of Doc H.
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by rh:
quote: