SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Need Some Insight from Our Residential Electrician Types
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need Some Insight from Our Residential Electrician Types Login/Join 
The Unmanned Writer
Picture of LS1 GTO
posted
First; I am an aircraft electrician by trade and know the dangers of electricity.

Here's what I have; 15A general circuit.7 outlets on the circuit plus LED ceiling lights (8 total)spread out into two bedrooms.

In one bedroom, two of the four outlets work as do the lights. The other two plug have 2 VAC on the them and, each of the two "hot" holes will read 129 VAC to ground. (one of these two feed into the other bedroom and all outlets in there read out the same.

Pulled out both plugs and they look good (no burnt wires, good connections, etc.). Changed out the circuit breaker on a whim, no joy. Also, no GFCI outlet on the circuit either.

Also - the power did return briefly when nothing was touched. Then went out again. This was what lead me to the CB replacement.

Short of buying a meter which can follow the electrical path through walls (saw an electrician with one and still considering the purchase though) - any ideas from the brain trust on where to look for the flaw?

Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

"If dogs don't go to Heaven, I want to go where they go" Will Rogers

The definition of the words we used, carry a meaning of their own...

Posts: 14039 | Location: It was Lat: 33.xxxx Lon: 44.xxxx now it's CA :( | Registered: March 22, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Three Generations
of Service
Picture of PHPaul
posted Hide Post
If the outlets are daisy-chained, it could be an internal problem with the connection.

Outlets are cheap, replace them.

Be careful when following the masses. Sometimes the M is silent.

Posts: 15264 | Location: Downeast Maine | Registered: March 10, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Unmanned Writer