Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lost my job Login/Join 
posted
I have been a nurse practitioner for 10 years. I was asked to come to a meeting where I was informed I was either going to be fired or could either resign a job I was good at. My offense was speaking out against incompetence with the current management. I know silence is golden but I can only take so much fraud and complacency with it by a system. I will not mention the institution but every day I see them turning a blind eye to doctors bills no for services not performed or adding consultants that are not needed to feed the money cow. I can get a lawyer and go that route or take their severance package. I am an honest person. My word is a very serious thing to me. I am in such conflict in this. I have a family to support, and usual bills. If I fight and win it is only a matter of time before I get canned and then blackballed. What does the brain trust think. My anxiety is through the roof.

Jim

Posts: 279 | Location: Northeast Ohio  | Registered: August 06, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Ammoholic
Picture of Skins2881
posted Hide Post
Why the heck would you fight to get that job back? Take the severance package and run. Then find a practice that makes you feel good to work at. Especially if the package is big enough to get you through enough time to land a better gig.

Jesse

Sic Semper Tyrannis

Posts: 20831 | Location: Loudoun County, Virginia | Registered: December 27, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Jim,

Take the severance and find a better employer. Life's too short to be stuck working for assholes, particularly dishonest ones. I don't take a job I'm not willing to walk away from, and I have.

The temptation will be strong to put your feelings in a resignation letter. It's best not to.

You might talk to an attorney privately about a whistleblower claim.

Posts: 6650 | Registered: September 13, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Leemur