SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Anyone here do air/particulate testing?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anyone here do air/particulate testing? Login/Join 
Picture of vthoky
posted
As part of my new job, I've been handed an AeroTrak particle counter and a test procedure and essentially told, "figure it out."

I read the procedure, set up the meter the best I knew how (not having even seen one before), and then set up and ran the test.

Now I have data, and I don't know a thing about how to interpret it. If I try to make information from the data, I get a really odd conclusion -- in one portion of the test, the data shows the air as being dirtier after the filtration run than it was right after the fire burned. I'm no expert, for sure, but this just doesn't make sense.

Yesterday involved a bunch of reading regarding CADR (clean air delivery rate) testing and the "standard" setups for such tests. I understand the basics of the test, so that's a start. But I don't yet understand the results this meter is presenting.

Today I wrestled with it some more, realizing that I didn't label the "recipes" well enough to be properly descriptive in the report. That, I can work around. Then tinkering with the software, I found that maybe I didn't ask for the right data (units of measure) to be presented. So I re-ran the report with different u/m and got different numbers but very similar graphs. (Reasonably so.)

To the point: I'm hoping to tap the SF "guru collection" and find someone who's got knowledge of this type of test, and -- as a bonus -- someone who's familiar with this particular meter. I read some this afternoon about a similar Fluke product (925? 985? I can't remember.) and the test method was mostly similar, but very different with respect to the use of a zero-pass filter. Confused

Hoping someone here has the knowledge, and thanking you all in advance.

God bless America.