SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I need a new water softener. Suggestions requested.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I need a new water softener. Suggestions requested. Login/Join 
Res ipsa loquitur
Picture of BB61
posted
We’ve had a Sears Kenmore for the last 16 years that has worked well. However, it has finally decided to give up the ghost so to speak. Our Kenmore used salt pellets which was a pain as we had to take the bags downstairs. Mrs. BB61 is wondering about the salt less softeners so as we get older we aren’t carrying bags of salt downstairs. As I have no experience with them, I thought I would turn to the SIGforum braintrust for suggestions. For reference, we have extremely hard water. Also, if salt less softeners aren’t the best option or pricey, I’d appreciate suggestions for a quality softener that uses salt. As an FYI, there are no Sears where we live so a replacement Kenmore isn’t really an option if we go the salt route.
Thanks!

Posts: 12473 | Registered: October 13, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I just replaced my water softener in April after 14 good years of service.

Purchased a Hague system - about 2K installed.

I looked at the salt-less systems and the performance just wasn't there - a lot of smoke and mirrors. These systems are not actually softening the water - they are only "conditioning" the water. Look up the difference and you will understand what I am talking about.

My new system only uses one bag of salt pellets monthly - and that is for a family of 5. Very efficient.

Best of luck.

Posts: 4979 | Registered: April 20, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
On the wrong side of
the Mobius strip
Picture of Patrick-SP2022
posted Hide Post
I recently had a problem with our water softener. We were experiencing a loss of water pressure unless we bypassed the system.
After doing some research, I decided to try fixing it myself.