SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Changed my 07 Elantra's timing belt
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Changed my 07 Elantra's timing belt Login/Join 
Picture of Sock Eating Golden
posted
Man what a pain in the ass and the knuckles.

My rear brakes needed replaced, then the alternator decided to stop... alternating. As the timing belt was coming due anyway I decided to go ahead and just get it all done while I have it tore apart. All toghether I replaced the brake pads and rotors, alternator, alternator and A/C belts, timing belt and it's pulleys, and the water pump. I'm not a mechanic, but I've done these jobs before. Though generally with my brother's assistance. He is a mechanic and MUCH faster than I am.

With time to set up, tool runs (DAMN those gear wrenches are nice), lunch, dinner, cussing, and breaks it took me 23 hours. I wanted to get it done myself as he was only coming up for one week from Georgia. I'm much more meticulous than he is. I lay out the parts and their bolts in a line on the floor as they come off. Finally wrapped it all up and checked the timing by cycling the engine a couple times by hand. All felt well and started it and ran it around the airport to test drive and everything was awesome. Felt good to complete it myself.

Started it the next day and the engine light came on... dammit. Sure enough it was the crankshaft position code. It ran and idled fine. Checking forums I figured I must have been one tooth off. Enough to throw a code, but not grenade the interference engine. I limped it home and waited for Dan to come home before messing with it again.