SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Building a Website (derp)
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Building a Website (derp) Login/Join 
Spread the Disease
Picture of flesheatingvirus
posted
I've had my own domain purchased for a few years now; I'm trying to take more time to actually start to build the site, but I'm still pretty new to this. I have an UNDER CONSTRUCTION homepage so far. That's about it.

The site is through Wix, but the domain is through Squarespace (purchased the domain from Google, but they just transferred it to Squarespace). I noticed that I can transfer the domain to be managed under Wix. Does that make sense to do? Or should I put them both under Squarespace? I have zero experience with their website building tools, and only some with Wix's. I need to watch more guide videos.

It seems to be a bit of a PITA to use 2 different websites to manage this whole thing. I'm running in circles just trying to figure out the whole email/DNS crap.

-- Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past me I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain. --

Posts: 17620 | Location: New Mexico | Registered: October 14, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
W07VH5
Picture of mark123
posted Hide Post
I use Epik for domain registrar, cloudflare for DNS and Inmotion hosting for my web host. I’ve found it better to separate everything as I’ve had an all-in-one go defunct.

Posts: 45565 | Location: Pennsyltucky | Registered: December 05, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
would not care
to elaborate
Picture of sse
posted Hide Post
interesting

Posts: 3076 | Location: USA | Registered: June 12, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of henryaz
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by mark123: