SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Ethanol Free Gas - Topping off my vehicle tank - Waste of money ???
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ethanol Free Gas - Topping off my vehicle tank - Waste of money ??? Login/Join 
Picture of 4MUL8R
posted Hide Post
If you find benefits, continue using fuels as you describe. My profession is as an engineer in the world of vehicle fuels, and I'll offer a few bits here.

1. Ethanol as a fuel offers less energy than gasoline. No getting around this chemical fact. So, ethanol free fuel has more energy, and to move down the road, some distance, requires less fuel.
2. Many vehicles either calculate or measure the ethanol content of the fuel, and adjust injector pulse width and strategy real time. Your vehicle is aware, compensating, and maximizing its performance for each tank.
3. Ethanol is often criticized, but modern vehicles all can function well with up to 10% ethanol. Flexible Fuel Vehicles (FFV) can consume up to 85% ethanol. Bringing concerns about small engine carburetor or marine use of ethanol fuel to the typical vehicle is not truly relevant.
4. Ethanol is an effective solvent, and is known to provide a cleaning benefit for soluble deposits found in the combustion chamber and valves.
5. Octane requirements are to be followed. Preignition due to low octane, poor quality fuel, or other causes can damage pistons and rings.
6. Ethanol-free fuel naturally provides more energy per combustion cycle, and as a result could mean the driver is not demanding as much of the engine by opening the throttle. This could be a reason for not sensing "pinging" but at the OP's stated fuel tank proportions, this surprises me.