SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    New puppy...whinging about a blessing
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New puppy...whinging about a blessing Login/Join 
Telecom Ronin
Picture of dewhorse
posted
I have been bugging my lovely wife for 2 years about getting a dog, while she thinks they're cute she has been very strongly against one. Fast forward to last Saturday when I get a text while at drill, a picture of a cute black lab puppy and the question "what time are you done"

So 4 hours later we have a very cute male black lab puppy and due to the short notice we are ill-prepared. My wife did get a kennel and some toys and the breeder gave us some treats and food but otherwise nada.

Now this is not my first puppy but it has been at least 20 years since I went through the joys of puppydom.....

He's a very good 11 Wk old puppy, has had a few accidents, most due to us not noticing the signs or getting scared...he sits well, has almost learned his name, sleeps at night from 2100-0330 or so...pretty damn good for less than a week.

My wife has never had a dog so she is still 50/50 about him "he's cute when he's laying down but otherwise...."

So here's the bitching.....puppies ....god made them cute for a reason Big Grin

And training non-dog people is often harder than training the puppy

Roll Eyes

Here is Loki laying in our office while we work

Posts: 8301 | Location: Back in NE TX ....to stay | Registered: February 12, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
chickenshit
Picture of rsbolo
posted Hide Post
That's a good looking pup!

Posts: 8000 | Location: East Central FL | Registered: January 05, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Crusty old
curmudgeon
Picture of Jimbo54
posted Hide Post
Your wife will come around. By this time next year she'll kill anyone that harms him. Big Grin

Jim

"If you can't be a good example, then you'll have to be a horrible warning" -Catherine Aird