SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Shipping mags to Canada

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Shipping mags to Canada Login/Join 
posted
I tried to set International shipping in ebay to ship some Sig magazines to Canada. Cant do it, is getting blocked by ebay as is under gun category. If i change the listing to something else or should not ? I have the buyer address, well he did not get a chance to buy it, could not. But if i try to ship it just regular international mail will usps or border confiscate it ? Any input appreciated.

Posts: 178 | Location: Atlanta | Registered: December 20, 2002Report This Post
Lead slingin'
Parrot Head
Picture of Modern Day Savage
posted Hide Post
I'm far from an expert on firearm parts exports, but ran into a similar situation once.

A U.S. citizen that was living in Canada was interested in buying a gun part I was selling. He assured me that the gun part was legal to possess there.

Not knowing the laws on this I did a little digging and found an import/ export outfit that specialized in filling out the forms and going through the approval and shipping process. Obviously there was a hefty upcharge for their service, as well as the shipping costs. The part had to be shipped to the exporter and, after the forms were filed and approved, the exporter would then ship the part from their address to the Canada address.

When I got back to the prospective buyer with a quote that included this export service and the shipping he wasn't interested in paying that much more.

Luckily, he had a family member that lived in the U.S. so I mailed the part to their U.S. address, after which the part somehow made it's way into the buyer's hands.

Posts: 7324 | Location: the Centennial state | Registered: August 21, 2006Report This Post
Fighting the good fight
Picture of RogueJSK
posted Hide Post
It's not just a matter of mailing some magazines across the border.