SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Armorer    P220 Carry FTRB
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

P220 Carry FTRB Login/Join 
posted
I have a P220 Carry .45ACP that has a fail to return to battery about 2 or 3 times per 100 rds. Not much, sometimes I can smack it shut with my hand. Doesn't matter what brand ammo or type. FMJ or HP. It is a 2017 model I bought new. Here is what I've done. Replaced the recoil spring. Didn't make any difference. Switched barrels with another P220 Carry barrel I had. No difference. I've been shooting for more than 35 years and am not limp wristing. Is it possible that the extractor could cause this? I really don't want to send this back to Sig. Thanks for your suggestions.

A shot not taken is a shot missed

Posts: 407 | Registered: April 13, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Check everything in the feed path for burrs or an irregularity. I am presuming the pistol is properly lubed.

Extractor, breech face, etc. Had a similar problem with a P226 .22LR conversion unit once. De-burred the extractor and the barrel cutout for the extractor. Also slightly modified the extractor shape, which I would not recommend you do. Functions fine now.

Place the bare slide on the frame and manually move it fore/aft. See if there is any binding or undue friction. Not the same as with the barrel/mainspring in place, but may tell you something.

Finally, any pattern on rounds fired before it occurs? Like heat-related expansion after firing x number of rounds.

If there is nothing obvious, it's probably got to go back to Sig. Good luck.

Posts: 4670 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: June 29, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I Deal In Lead
Picture of Flash-LB
posted Hide Post
I would suspect improper cleaning and/or lubing.

Sigs like to be run wet.

Posts: 10626 | Location: Gilbert Arizona | Registered: March 21, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of USMC2PD
posted Hide Post