SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Armorer    Manual Racking of Slide and Ejection Issue (?)
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Manual Racking of Slide and Ejection Issue (?) Login/Join 
posted
I have always removed a live round from a loaded gun by manually racking the slide and normally the round will eject, some more forcefully than others, depending on the make/model of the gun. I also use this as an indication of whether the ejector is working properly or not. I have a new Ruger EC9S that jams the round when I try to manually eject it. I feel that this is a problem that needs to be fixed but Ruger CS tells me it is normal for that gun. The gun does eject normally when actually firing. I've been shooting semi autos for over 50 years and this is the first time I've ever had this issue. Comments?

Posts: 289 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: March 16, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Firearms Enthusiast
Picture of Mustang-PaPa
posted Hide Post
If it ejects when firing a live round then it’s ok imo.

Posts: 18142 | Location: South West of Fort Worth, Tx. | Registered: December 26, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DeadHead
Picture of two-two-niner-romeo
posted Hide Post
Are you pulling slide forcefully enough?
From page 19 of the user manual: