SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Gallery    I guess I'm a REAL AZ Resident now!
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I guess I'm a REAL AZ Resident now! Login/Join 
Picture of pulicords
posted
My wife and I moved to Scottsdale last year from California and we've had quite a few encounters with the local wildlife. Yesterday, I definitely had a "Bucket-List" moment, while hiking at nearly 4600 feet elevation in 60ish degree temps: My first meeting with a Gila Monster!!! I've been hoping to see one of these for some time, but was surprised when it actually occurred. I nearly stepped on this guy and he was as shocked as I was since he reared back, opened his mouth and gave me a very audible warning hiss!!!

I have neighbors that have lived in this area for years and never seen one of these venomous lizards (the only species with venom in North American and the largest lizard here), so I count myself lucky. Hopefully, I'll see more of them, but there is a bit of luck involved as Gila Monsters spend most of their life underground and may only be out of their burrows for as few as three weeks of the year.

"I'm not fluent in the language of violence, but I know enough to get around in places where it's spoken."

Posts: 10187 | Location: The Free State of Arizona | Registered: June 13, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of az4783054
posted Hide Post
You're lucky to have captured the moment. I'm a native and never seen one in the wild. I can count on one hand how many rattlesnakes I've seen and I've worked all over the state. The Gila Monster really blends into the terrain.

Beware of a man whose only pistol is a 1911, he's probably very good with it.

Posts: 11194 | Location: Somewhere north of a hot humid hell in the summer. | Registered: January 09, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of pulicords
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by az4783054: