SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Gallery    A revival of the Watch thread
Page 1 ... 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 ... 471
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

A revival of the Watch thread Login/Join 
Picture of Lt CHEG
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 6guns:
In the early 80's when I got my first job out of college, I worked as an engineer on an oil and gas research ship owned and operated by Mobil Exploration and Producing out of Dallas, TX. Funny, a ship operated out of landlocked Dallas. But it was a great first job and I saw much of the world including lots of third world shitho....I mean countries. Travel is a great educator. But on this ship were lots of scientists and technicians along with us marine crew and many of them had very nice watches. Maybe it was a Dallas/Texas thing. One that caught my eye in particular was an Omega Seamaster. I'm not sure I'd say it was my grail watch, but I finally got one from a forum member who was great to deal with.

I'm sure this won't be the end of my watch journey, but it sure has scratched an itch!

Looks great on you my friend! Wear it in good health.

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

Posts: 5562 | Location: Upstate NY | Registered: February 28, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post