SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    How much does reloading cost? How much do you save?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How much does reloading cost? How much do you save? Login/Join 
Picture of signoir
posted
This thread is for all inquiries into what reloading equipment and supplies cost, and what savings over the purchased price of ammo can be reasonably expected. If you wish to share your reloading costs and savings with others, please post them here.

Links to relevant posts:

https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/840601935/m/4051091261

I'm sure there are a lot more...

This message has been edited. Last edited by: signoir,

"When I held that gun in my hand, I felt a surge of power...like God must feel... when he's holding a gun!" H. Simpson.

Posts: 1044 | Registered: July 04, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of signoir
posted Hide Post
Equipment:

I've been reloading now for over 30 years. I started reloading .45ACP with a $40 Lee Classic Loader back when I had more time than money. When I bought a .44Mag revolver, I also bought an RCBS single-stage press and the 2 sets of dies that I needed. When I added a .41Mag and .357Mag to my arsenal, I bought an RCBS Rockchucker and a Uniflow powder measure and performed 3-stage loading - decap and resize on the Rockchucker, charge powder with the Uniflow, and seat and crimp on the other press. When I added a Walther 9mm, a Sig P226, a Kimber 10mm, and a S&W PC1911, I decided it was time to go progressive. Luckily (or by design) RCBS makes a progressive conversion kit for the Rockchucker called the Piggyback. I probably have around a $1000 in reloading equipment and I use it all - nothing was a wasted purchase. Now that I have more money than time, I keep adding stuff if it makes me more efficient. Most recently I bought a brass sorter so that I didn't have to keep hand picking the 9mm and .40S&W out of the .45ACP everytime I came back from the range. After re