SIGforum
WHICH POWDER IS BETTER IMR PB OR UNIQUE?

This topic can be found at:
https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/840601935/m/8090050124

March 15, 2017, 11:52 AM
STYLUS_407
WHICH POWDER IS BETTER IMR PB OR UNIQUE?
Hey guys, I'm new to reloading and about to begin my first load of 124 gr 9mm. When I bought my Dillion 550B, the guy I bought it from gave me 2 pistol powders, one container of IMR PB, and another of Unique. Which powder would be better? and should I go with first? I know not to mix the powders...Ever ...A little back ground info..I shoot in action matches from time to time, and would be shooting a Sig 226 SSE or a Sig 229 SSE...I would like good accuracy out to 25 yards, or more......Thx

This message has been edited. Last edited by: STYLUS_407,
March 15, 2017, 01:25 PM
jhe888
Unique is a classic for pistol rounds in that range of power. I have used a lot of it in .38 and .45ACP, and even in lighter .357 magnum loads. (There are better choices for the heaviest .357 loads.) You can't go wrong with Unique. The newer formulation is supposed to be a little cleaner burning. I haven't used the new stuff because I still have some from the older formulation, but I never thought Unique was too dirty. A little more dirty than some, but not excessively so.

I haven't used IMR PB. I read one comment that it didn't meter as well for the light charges you would use in 9mm. That could be powder meter specific though. It also seems to be a little more expensive than most comparable powders. Since you have some for free, I am sure it will make some shootable rounds. People like it for .38 Special too. Like Unique, it was designed for shotguns, but works well in lower pressure pistol rounds.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: jhe888,

The fish is mute, expressionless. The fish doesn't think because the fish knows everything.
March 15, 2017, 03:46 PM
fredj338
New guy, go with the Unique. PB is pretty fast, IMO not for anything but 9mm minor.