SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    TUMBLING 9MM BRASS WITH PRIMERS IN OR OUT ??
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

TUMBLING 9MM BRASS WITH PRIMERS IN OR OUT ?? Login/Join 
posted
Hello All,
I'm new to reloading and tumbled my first load of 9mm brass, using RCBS Formula 1 walnut. I was reading about tumbling pistol brass with or without spent primers in. I left them in, and got a few casings with media in the flash hole. Do you just de-prime those, and clear out the media? Do you worry about media in the primer pocket that maybe you can't see? How do you clean your Pistol Brass, with or with out primer?....Thx

Posts: 25 | Location: Central Florida | Registered: August 25, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You'll get even more media stuck in the primer pocket with them out. It's really not important to clean the pocket on pistol brass.

Posts: 8944 | Location: The Red part of Minnesota | Registered: October 06, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of jmorris
posted Hide Post
If your decapping pin can push a primer out, the walnut won't be a problem.

Now you can get them both out at the same time or do the same thing twice, that part is up to you.

Posts: 481 | Location: DFW | Registered: May 03, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm not sure what the problem is here. I decap my brass before tumbling. In 100 cases I will have about 20 of them with a piece of media stuck in the flash hole. I just push pick at it gently with a hook or a nail and move on. I don't know what you mean about media that you can't see. This flash hole is not a tunnel; you see the media or you don't.

Even if something is left in there, it won't matter a bit.

Posts: 3398 | Location: Texas | Registered: June 20, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by NikonUser:
I don't know what you mean about media that you can't see. This flash hole is not a tunnel; you see the media or you don't.