SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Bullet casting advice needed
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bullet casting advice needed Login/Join 
Like a party
in your pants
Picture of armored
posted
With the uncertainty of the future of firearms I decided to back myself up as much as possible in the re-loading area.
Shortages always effect primer and powder availability first.I have been stocking up on both for the last several years.
I now want to cover myself on bullets.I want to cast,or be capable of producing my own rifle and handgun bullets.

Are LEE molds good to go?
Are LEE sizer dies acceptable?
Is powder coating a better choice than bullet lube?
What lead formula is best for hardness, particularly for rifle or higher velocity shooting?
Whats the best way to "slug" a barrel and suggested bullet sizing?

Any other suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Posts: 4609 | Location: Chicago, IL, USA: | Registered: November 17, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
7.62mm Crusader
posted Hide Post
Go cast iron for your molds, Redding-Saeco or RCBS. And care for them after use. The Redding mold handles are longer than RCBS and more comfortable for long casting sessions. RCBS mold handles are good but too short and transfer the heat. I had 3 sets with longer handles custom turned and finished for my RCBS tools. Made my escusions from copper caps for capping 3/4" copper pipe. They were beautiful mold handles a shy longer than my Reddings. Be aware, a lot of wheel weights are made of scrap steel now but look like lead. Check before you even bring them home. Casting is a outdoor hobby unless you have strong exhaust fans. I used the cheap Lee 20 pound melt pots x2 for cleaning and alloy ingots. Used my better melt pots for actual casting.

Posts: 17891 | Location: The Bluegrass State! | Registered: December 23, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Like a party
in your pants
Picture of armored
posted Hide Post