SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    NEW TO RELOADING WANT TO TRY 165 GR 9MM LOADS
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

NEW TO RELOADING WANT TO TRY 165 GR 9MM LOADS Login/Join 
posted
Hello All,
I just got a Dillion 550B and I'm new to reloading. I've been doing my research for the past week or so before starting to load anything. I've read here on SF about some shooters using higher grain bullets with less powder, and it's advantages, less recoil, etc. I am wanting to try out a 9mm 165 gr bullet. What would be a good powder grain amount to start with, using Unique Powder, to be accurate and cycle the pistol reliably, using the 165gr bullet? I read a quote from Fredj338 about some shooters using that grain bullet, with +/-800fps. Does anyone have a recipe that I could work from with OAL, Case length, and powder grain amount? I'll probably use Xtreme bullets 165gr RN. I shoot in action matches here and there for fun and training, and use a Sig 226 SSE & Sig 229 SSE, to give a little background....Thanks

This message has been edited. Last edited by: STYLUS_407,

Posts: 25 | Location: Central Florida | Registered: August 25, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Avoiding
slam fires
Picture of 45 Cal
posted Hide Post
You admit you are new.
My advice is getting a couple or three books and study carefully.
Use your new 550 with published loads bullets and powders.
Get a feel for how things work before you wander into some unknowns

Posts: 22407 | Location: Georgia | Registered: February 19, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post