SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Winchester primers
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Winchester primers Login/Join 
Picture of cne32507
posted
I started shooting IDPA this spring and recently switched small pistol primers from CCI 400 to Winchester WSP. I switched because my carry sometimes light struck the CCI's. I read that the WSP was thinner and would help with light strikes and they seem to do just that. I reload for lighter practice ammo and use this in IDPA (but they still make the Minor PF).

My P226 .40 S&W I use in IDPA never had light strike issues; but I have had a FTF in my last two matches using the WSP primers. WTF??? The primer appeared to be well struck, but gave no love; even with an extra hit. I never had that issue with CCI. Guess I'll have to buy a case of CCI. Is there a way to glance at a primer to tell if it is bad?

Posts: 2520 | Location: High Sierra & Low Desert | Registered: February 03, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of henryaz
posted Hide Post

Have you changed the stock mainspring in your gun to something lighter?

Posts: 10778 | Location: South Congress AZ | Registered: May 27, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
To all of you who are serving or have served our country, Thank You
Picture of Jelly
posted Hide Post
quote:
I started shooting IDPA this spring and recently switched small pistol primers from CCI 400 to Winchester WSP

You lost me CCI 400 are small rifle primers.

Have you tried Federal primers? They are some of the most sensitive primers made.

Posts: 2675 | Registered: March 15, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of cne32507
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Jelly:
quote:
I started shooting IDPA this spring and recently switched small pistol primers from CCI 400 to Winchester WSP

You lost me CCI 400 are small rifle primers.

Have you tried Federal primers? They are some of the most sensitive primers made.