SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Anyone use a benchtop magnifier?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anyone use a benchtop magnifier? Login/Join 
Shit don't
mean shit
posted
Eyes are getting old so I was thinking of getting a bench top, clamp style, illuminated magnifier (LED). I see they have a range of 2.25X to 10X. Anyone use one? 2.25X, 5X, 10X?

I mainly want to use it for inspecting cases to check for cracks, signs over over pressure, etc...

Recommendations?

Posts: 5734 | Location: 7400 feet in Conifer CO | Registered: November 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have been using an Optivisor at my bench for many years.....plus a good light(LED) source. They come in different strengths.

Posts: 6601 | Location: Az | Registered: May 27, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Steve in PA
posted Hide Post
Yup, I use one, although the one I have uses a regular bulb instead of an LED. I don't know the magnification power, but I'll post if I find out what it is.

I use it for the same reasons you do......aging eyes!

Steve
"The Marines I have seen around the world have, the cleanest bodies, the filthiest minds, the highest morale, and the lowest morals of any group of animals I have ever seen. Thank God for the United States Marine Corps." Eleanor Roosevelt, 1945

Posts: 3436 | Location: Northeast PA | Registered: June 05, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of henryaz
posted Hide Post

I wear an old pair of single vision reading glasses for reloading and other close up work. 

Posts: 10778 | Location: South Congress AZ | Registered: May 27, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I picked up a generic unit from harbor freight. It's got some goofy light duty clamps.

https://www.harborfreight.com/...ing-hands-60501.html

Posts: 1063 | Location: hampton roads, va. | Registered: October 03, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Blue68f100
posted Hide Post