SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    help understanding what I think I know about reloading
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

help understanding what I think I know about reloading Login/Join 
posted
I have been reloading for several years. For rifle rounds I always use a single stage press and load one round at a time. But for hand guns I use a Lee turret press. I don't load to max and I'm not that good of a hang gun shooter to think I can change much by using a different means. I believe I read here (thing it was fredj338) that he doesn't bother much with primer pockets on handgun ammo. If I am wrong I apologizes fredj338 Razz. Anyway I also do not trim my handgun ammo either (??) What I am seeing is lots of variance in OAL. Now before you say brass needs trimming, what different does it make as in seating bullet you push on bullet. Case length should have nothing to do with it with the exception of seating bullet farther in case. Which is not a good thing either. I would think that pushing from bottom of case and top (ogive) of bullet should give OAL distance pretty much uniform, right? What am I missing? Oh yeah all bullets are bulk with most coming from Everglades.

Posts: 156 | Registered: January 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Overall lengths of pistol rounds or rifle vary several thousandths mostly due to tip shape. Hollowpoint bullets have irregular tips causing as much as .010" variance. Even round nose pistol bullets vary. Some a little blunter tips than others. Bulk bullets can vary due to them being made from multiple batches. Measuring the length of the bullet themselves can show where a lot of the overall length comes from. As far as cases and case length, some difference can be seen from case neck thickness, hardness, or length, I think mainly from press linkage slop or free play? I load to an overall length with the longest at the length I want and let the shorter bullets seat shorter.