SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Reloading 5.56 suggestions
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading 5.56 suggestions Login/Join 
posted
I am new to reloading for the 5.56 in AR platform. I currently reload for several rifle and pistol calibers.
I have a box of 77 gr. Sierra HPBT .224 dia. that I obtained in a trade deal long time ago.
AR is Mid length gas tube, 1 in 7 twist, 16" barrel.
Would 62 gr. be OK for plinking?
Looking for suggestions for powder and any other suggestions/tips.
Just a range gun, not match shooting.
Thanks in advance.

PC

Posts: 1332 | Location: NW Wyoming | Registered: November 23, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Banned
posted Hide Post
quote:
62 gr. be OK for plinking

In my humble opinion - the 55gr. ammo will most likely be the cheaper of the two. With that said, you will only benefit from the 62gr. projectile at distances greater than 300 yds.. 300 yds. and under, there is really no signifigant difference unless your talking about defensive measures whereas the 55gr. projectile is better at distances less than 300 yds. because of it's yaw rate and rate of fragmentation. Anything over 300 yds. I would suggest the 62gr. ammo. But, for plinking, definately the 55gr., it's cheaper...... P.S. I know wolf usually doesn't fragment, but I have seen it fragment before, I missed the brand name in the first post, I was just speaking generally.

Posts: 90 | Registered: December 23, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Blue68f100
posted Hide Post
With your fast twist barrel I think the 62 would be a good choice. I've had trouble with light pills in fast twist barrels. As far as powder I normally use Varget for my heavier match loads. All others get TAC or CFE-223. If loading on a AP I would choose TAC since it's a ball powder.

David

P229R 9mm, Nitron, Beavertail Frame, Night Sights, DA/SA, SRT & Short Reach Trigger