SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Commercial lead bullet casting
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Commercial lead bullet casting Login/Join 
posted
I am looking for some information on the ins and outs of casting lead bullets in volume with the end in view of going into business and selling them. Up front I will say that I have very little experience with casting bullets. I have been shooting and handloading for many years but have never been serious about casting bullets for myself. I am not planning or even thinking of reloading, manufacturing or remanufacturing ammo for sale, only casting lead bullets in bulk for sale. This idea has been in the back of my mind for a while now and the current state of affairs with ammo and reloading components, etc., has made me think about it seriously. Anyone who has relevant experience to share or knows of good sources of information, I would love to hear from you. I'm not interested in getting feed back from anyone who only has an opinion with nothing to back it up. Not trying to offend anyone, but I would rather have one or two helpful and relevant responses as opposed to a bunch of opinions. Thanks in advance!

Any sane person should be instinctively skeptical when all the smart people agree. Mark Steyn

Posts: 165 | Location: WNC | Registered: November 20, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Uppity Helot
posted Hide Post
I hand cast bullets for my own use in practice ammo. I am a piker compared to a commercial operation.

I cast outside on dry days with temperatures ranging between 40-80 degrees. I usually cast between 150-300 bullets per session before my time, interest or hands fatigue. I water quench my bullets. I am particular about the appearance of my bullets and inspect each one with a 5-15% rejection rate. These rates, methodologies and production strategies serve me fine but won’t really work for a commercial caster.