SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    CLOSED: Do you measure and trim your .45 ACP cases?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

CLOSED: Do you measure and trim your .45 ACP cases? Login/Join 
I'm not laughing
WITH you
Picture of Rolan_Kraps
posted
I have been experimenting with different lead bullets for my 1911 and my 1873 lever action rifle.

I need to load lead bullets for an off-shoot of Cowboy Action Shooting called "Wild Bunch Action Shooting".

I've found a nice 235 gr. RNFP lead bullet that my rifle really likes. In the 1911, it is about 98%. Naturally, I'd like it to be 100%.

My gunsmith swears that because the 1911 headspaces on the case, it is critical to measure and trim each case.

Question:
Do you measure and trim each 1911 case before reloading?

Choices:
Yes, it is the only proper way.
No, Ain't nobody got time for that.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Rolan_Kraps,

Rolan Kraps
SASS Regulator
Gainesville, Georgia.
NRA Range Safety Officer
NRA Certified Instructor - Pistol / Personal Protection Inside the Home

Posts: 23577 | Location: Gainesville, GA | Registered: October 11, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
This Space for Rent
Picture of ugeesta
posted Hide Post
Nope. Haven't loaded many 45ACP rounds, but the 4,500 I have loaded worked fine so far.

We will never know world peace, until three people can simultaneously look each other straight in the eye

Liberals are like pussycats and Twitter is Trump's laser pointer to keep them busy while he takes care of business - Rey HRH.

Posts: 5747 | Location: Colorado | Registered: April 20, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of jmorris
posted Hide Post
Every February 30th, is 45 ACP trimming day for me.

Posts: 481 | Location: DFW | Registered: May 03, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Blue68f100
posted Hide Post