SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    New to reloading and need advice.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New to reloading and need advice. Login/Join 
Picture of onpointgun
posted
Ok I am new to this game. I reloaded shotgun shells in the past but never rifle rounds. I have ordered a Lee Kit but its not here yet. I am heading out this weekend to buy some supplies. Once everything comes in a friend that has reloaded for years is going to come over and walk me through the setup and get me going. Here are a few questions I am doing this mainly for .308 that will be fired in a GAP-10. I am wanting to get the best accuracy I can. What are some of your favorite powders, bullets, primers or anything else I am missing.

I will be swift in my attack. My venom is packed with enough pride and gun powder to take down
any adversary that attempts to tread on my freedom. You've been warned, but if you
still want to test me, take a step forward.

Posts: 2033 | Location: ON THE YELLOW BRICK ROAD | Registered: February 11, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
First step for accuracy in any rifle is a good bullet. IMO, that is a match bullet in suitable weight for your barrel twist. Lots of good powder choices in 308. Many swear by Varget, but I always got so-so accuracy with it, but a good place to start, lots of data. Another is IMR4895. You will never get top vel but good accuracy. For a bolt gun I would neck size, but for a semi, you are pretty much forced to FL size or maybe get by with partial FL sizing if using the brass from that rifle only. Having a mentor is a huge bonus if they know what they are doing.

IF YOU AREN'T HANDLOADING, YOU AREN'T SHOOTING ENOUGH!
NRA Instruc: Basic Pistol & Met Reloading

Posts: 7789 | Location: ca, usa | Registered: February 17, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by onpointgun: