SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Which Comparator
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which Comparator Login/Join 
Shit don't
mean shit
posted
I am pretty new to rifle reloading. Trying to decide on a bullet comparator for rifle reloading. Currently only for 30-06 and 300 Win Mag, primarily for hunting. I recently picked up some Redding Type S dies, but neglected to get a comparator. Sub 300 yards.

Trying to decide between the Sinclair, Hornaday and Redding. Sinclair and Hornaday are the caliper clamp on style, and the Redding is the dial indicator and die setup. I know the Redding is more expensive, but price isn't a real big concern.

I also realize the Redding will measure more/different measurements than the other 2.

ETA: Added Other selection.

Question:
Which comparator do you like, excluding price.

Choices:
Sinclair
Hornaday
Redding
Other

This message has been edited. Last edited by: 1967Goat,

Posts: 5734 | Location: 7400 feet in Conifer CO | Registered: November 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Knows too little
about too much
Picture of rduckwor
posted Hide Post
I have the Hornady. I find it difficult to get reproducible readings with it. Maybe its me, maybe not.

RMD

TL Davis: “The Second Amendment is special, not because it protects guns, but because its violation signals a government with the intention to oppress its people…”
Remember: After the first one, the rest are free.

Posts: 20303 | Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama | Registered: April 06, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Expert308
posted Hide Post
I have the same issue with my Hornady. Don't know whether it's the tool or the bullets or me.

Posts: 7244 | Location: Idaho | Registered: February 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have a Hornady, a Sinclair and a Redding. Not familiar with Hornaday.