SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Reloading    Muzzle Velocity Question
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Muzzle Velocity Question Login/Join 
Picture of henryrifle
posted
Recently I purchased a Remington 700 Magpul in .308 when Remington offered a $150 mail-in rebate. My brother-in-law purchased one too.

Some of this is new to me and I have little experience for comparison purposes. So far, I've found a couple of loads that seem stable and yield sub-MOA results --but only just-- .7 to .8. All of this is using Lapua large rifle primer brass, GM210M primers, 175 gr. SMKs loaded at an OAL of 2.81" using Varget:

42.9 gr. Varget - Muzzle velocity as measured by Labradar 2625
43.0 gr. Varget - Muzzle velocity as measured by Labradar 2636
44.0 gr. Varget - Muzzle velocity as measured by Labradar 2675

I am getting very good SDs in the low single digits and ESs in the 8-20 range.

The average case capacity for my lot of Lapua brass is 54.68 grains of water and my brass measures 2.012" once sized. I use a redding Small Base Full Length Type-S die.

My velocities are, on average 50 FPS higher than Quickload indicates and consistently 35 FPS higher than my Brother-in-law's rifle. Our chambers measure very closely in length. The max COAL using the same projectile and the Hornady OAL Gauge measures .004" different. I have about 350 rounds through the rifle at this time.

There are some differences in components. He is using Nossler brass which does have about a grain more water capacity than my Lapua. He may also be using a different bushing to resize his brass.

Also, I only shoot suppressed using a Thunderbeast Ultra 9 direct thread-on 30 caliber suppressor. Also, I shoot prone with a heavy forward load on the bipod while my B-I-L shoots off a bench and sand bags.