SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  CCW Methods & Issues    How do you carry while kayaking?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How do you carry while kayaking? Login/Join 
Picture of RichardC
posted
Boatfishing? I just use the normal IWB holster.

I'm new to kayaking, but friends are proposing a kayak float trip next weekend.

I expect to get wet.

Got recommendations?

Posts: 15844 | Location: Florida | Registered: June 23, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Administrator
posted Hide Post
Same.

But, I am the first to admit, IWB from seated is not optimal for presenting quickly.

I think the fastest would be cross-draw on a chest rig (concealment issues aside).

Engaging from a kayak has its own issues--lack of stable platform to shoot from, and lack of cover to begin with.

Posts: 17733 | Registered: August 12, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Peripheral Visionary
Picture of tigereye313
posted Hide Post
I would think a Kenai chest holster or a Hill People Gear Kit Bag would be my choice.

Posts: 11352 | Location: Texas | Registered: January 29, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have a camelback hydration pack with a pocket large enough for a G26. Not ideal, but it’s with me.

Posts: 1359 | Registered: October 19, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
silence is acceptance
Picture of birddog1
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by tigereye313:
I would think a Kenai chest holster or a Hill People Gear Kit Bag would be my choice.

I have both of these. I use the Kenai for hunting and the HPG for bicycling. I’ve actually got the snubby kit bag and the recon kit bag. The snubby kit bag has a smaller footprint. None of these are going to keep your firearm dry though.

Posts: 2336 | Location: Massillon, OH | Registered: January 22, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Fire for effect
posted Hide Post
I strongly recommend that you "dummy cord" your pistol to yourself. It would be easy to lose in the water.