SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  CCW Methods & Issues    Non-Resident Permit Question
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Non-Resident Permit Question Login/Join 
Picture of IntrepidTraveler
posted
Here's the situation. "I" below actually refers to someone else, but it's easier to write in the first person.

I am a resident of New Mexico.
I do not have any concealed carry permits.
I want to go to Arizona, take a class, and get a non-resident Arizona permit.

QUESTION: Can I legally carry in New Mexico (my state of residence) with only a non-resident Arizona permit?

I've looked thru handgunlaw.us and even the NM statutes (z-z-z-z-z-z, dry and boring), and it's not addressed that I can discern.

Thus the metric system did not really catch on in the States, unless you count the increasing popularity of the nine-millimeter bullet.
- Dave Barry

"Never go through life saying 'I should have'..." - quote from the 9/11 Boatlift Story (thanks, sdy for posting it)

Posts: 3295 | Location: Carlsbad NM/ Augusta GA | Registered: July 15, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Chris Anchor
posted Hide Post
You sit down and read your state's law on concealed carry or ask your State Police. There are states out there that don't allow a resident of theirs to use non-res permit since many that can't get their home state permit will go to the next state over. Chris

Posts: 1832 | Location: Cecil Co. Maryland | Registered: January 08, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of sourdough44
posted Hide Post
http://handgunlaw.us/documents...ntPermits.pdf#page17

Looks like yes. Scroll up to AZ non-res permit.

Posts: 6156 | Location: WI | Registered: February 29, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Truckin' On
Picture of AH.74
posted Hide Post
As mentioned just above- yes. At the present time.