SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  CCW Methods & Issues    I carried despite a TX 30.06 sign
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I carried despite a TX 30.06 sign Login/Join 
posted
Was that dumb? Foolish? Other?

Long story, but it's my first time in this state with a gun. We stopped for the night at a hotel in Houston and found a nearby Mexican restaurant. I noticed the sign as we walked in and knew what it meant, but I did not want to leave the LCP in the car. FWIW, I drank Diet Coke.

How do TX residents deal with this?

Posts: 15898 | Location: Eastern Iowa | Registered: May 21, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
As someone who makes the occasional trip across the Red River I will say that concealed is concealed. However, when I travel to Texas I avoid places with that sign because the legal consequences can be a real pain.

Laughing in the face of danger is all well and good until danger laughs back.

Posts: 496 | Location: Oklahoma | Registered: July 08, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Retired, laying back
and enjoying life
Picture of low8option
posted Hide Post
I too make occasional trips to Texas. Unlike most states the do not carry signs in Texas carry force of law and consequences can be rough. I have eaten cold sandwiches out of service station coolers in places where the only eatery were posted.

Freedom comes from the will of man. In America it is guaranteed by the 2nd Amendment

Posts: 876 | Location: Northern Alabama | Registered: June 21, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Stupid
Allergy
Picture of dry-fly
posted Hide Post
My best understanding is this, if caught they have to ask you to leave. If you refuse and PD is called it’s a misdemeanor. I don’t lose any sleep over the signs anymore. I DO try to give my business to places that do not have the stupid sign.

"Attack life, it's going to kill you anyway." Steve McQueen...