SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lair    Guitar experts. Need amp advice
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Guitar experts. Need amp advice Login/Join 
posted
I am just learning how to play guitar. I am looking for a small inexpensive amp. The ones I've been told to look into are the fender mini deluxe, the blackstar fly3, the mashall Ms2, and the honeytone. What would you recommend and why?

Posts: 469 | Location: Manassas VA | Registered: September 12, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of maladat
posted Hide Post
Do you have a bigger amp to use at home?

The reason that I ask is that those tiny amps have little bitty speakers that don't produce guitar frequencies all that well and use solid state circuitry that doesn't sound very good unless it's set super clean.

If you really need a tiny portable battery-powered practice amp, I've always heard the little Pignose is as good as it gets, but I've never used one.

If you can swing it, I'd spend a little more money on a 1 watt to 5 watt, maaaybe a 15 watt tube amplifier. A simple one is fine - very simple tube circuits sound great as long as you aren't trying to play metal.

I don't think I've ever played a tube amp that really sounded bad and I don't think I've ever played a solid state amp that really sounded great.

I have a top-of-the-line digital modeling amplifier (Kemper) for practicing with headphones at home. It sounds very good and it can sound like almost anything, but the most basic tube amp I have (a Fender tweed deluxe clone I built through a bare speaker sitting in a hole in a cardboard box) sounds better for the sounds it can do.

Posts: 6319 | Location: CA | Registered: January 24, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post