SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lair    Ian Tyson
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ian Tyson Login/Join 
posted
Anyone else here a fan? I have been listening to his music for almost 50 years. I was heartbroken some years back when he damaged that great voice. I think he put out a few albums, where he sounded like a frog croaking and I just couldn't bring myself to listen. Then I read that he had found a throat surgeon, who was able to fix the problem. I finally ordered what I think is his most recent album put out 2 years ago. After the first track, I began to smile. The man is in his mid-eighties and like Tony Bennett, he's still got the gift. Hang in there Ian. Never sell that saddle.

Posts: 2559 | Location: Central Virginia | Registered: July 20, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Been a fan since the early/mid 60s. He did pretty well for a rodeo cowboy who picked up a guitar. He’s written and sung some great songs. I understand that he lives on his ranch in Alberta and is still pretty active.

One of the few songwriters who can vividly describe the western experience from a personal viewpoint. So unlike the Nashville phonies. You might also like Tom Russell who was influenced by him.

Posts: 1607 | Location: Texas Hill Country | Registered: April 07, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Legalize the Constitution
Picture of TMats
posted Hide Post
I admit I’ve never spent much time listening to his music, but he has written some of my all-time favorite Western songs.

Posts: 13237 | Location: Wyoming | Registered: January 10, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of rtquig
posted Hide Post
I have only listened to one of his songs "Four Strong Winds" and he was very good. I heard Neil Young do the song and was curious who this Ian Tyson was. After listening to Neil Young attempt to sing it, my thought was Neil should give up as he IMO does the song a great injustice.

Living the Dream