SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lair    12 Strong... a review.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

12 Strong... a review. Login/Join 
Step by step walk the thousand mile road
Picture of Sig2340
posted
I recently heard the book The Horse Soldiers was reissued in advance of the release of a movie titled 12 Strong.

I bought a digital copy of the book and re-read it over the last few days.

Some long-term members know I have a high degree of respect for those Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) personnel who gave their lives in service to our Republic. These women and men labored in obscurity and gave their lives, knowing the odds of official recognition is almost zero.

In 12 Strong, we learn about the National Clandestine Service (NCS) paramilitary officers and the U.S. Army Special Forces personnel tasked with taking the fight to our enemy in what became the Global War on Terrorism (GWoT) shortly after the terrorist attack on America in September 2001.

Suffice to say these brave men joined The Northern Alliance forces under three Afghans who realized the Taliban and their Foriegn fighters were Satan’s feces.

The book explained how CIA paramilitary officer Johnny Michael (“Mike”) Spahn became the first American killed in the first American Afghan War of the 21st Century. It was the first detailed discussion of how Mike Spahn died serving out Nation that I've found.

It details every engagement these brave men (Afghans and Americans alike) fought in taking the Taliban down.

It was a perfect use of CIA and Special Forces.

I recommend the book, and will update this thread when the movie comes out.

Nice is overrated

"It's every freedom-loving individual's duty to lie to the government."
Airsoftguy, June 29, 2018

Posts: 31431 | Location: Loudoun County, Virginia | Registered: May 17, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
A agree it was an awesome book and gave a great over view of the NCS.