SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lair    Guitarists and musical types, a question...
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Guitarists and musical types, a question... Login/Join 
Repressed
Picture of ShneaSIG
posted
After an extended, almost 20 year hiatus, I've taken up an instrument once again. Actually, instruments. Once upon a time, I started learning to play bass, but quit because I was an impatient youth and life got busy. I started up again, and my goodness, how I missed it! I've also begun a foray into guitar as well. My daughter and I are actually learning guitar together, which is extremely awesome!

So, now... the question...

I've currently got an Epiphone Les Paul, and I'm enjoying it thoroughly for its thick, heavy tones. But, I have a wandering eye, you see... I have an itch to get a Fender Strat because I also like the brighter, chimey sort of tones those single-coils produce.

So... to Strat, or not to Strat?

...cuz... as I type this... I wanna Strat.

Bonus question: how to tell the wife. Wink

-ShneaSIG

Oh, by the way, which one's "Pink?"

Posts: 11059 | Location: MO | Registered: November 19, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Go Vols!
Picture of Oz_Shadow
posted Hide Post
Adorama has some nice deals on Player series Strats. Very nice guitars. I like their custom Lake Placid Blue color. mid to upper $500ish on sale

A Strat will play different. Some aspects can be more difficult, especially if the coils have extended poles. The knobs will get in your way at first.

A floating trem system does not like alternate tunings. Use the LP for that or go with one of the alternative setups.

No matter what, you want your guitars setup nicely to keep you playing.

The Strat is the most comfortable couch guitar ever made. I play mine unplugged every night while we are streaming some show.

https://www.adorama.com/fe0144...m_source=rflaid62905

Something like that

Tell the wife Baby Yoda made you do it - he used the force