Find
Notify
Tools

Witcher 3 Login/Join 
Little ray
of sunshine
Picture of jhe888
posted
I am late to the party, but I started playing Witcher 3.

The game play mechanics aren't a slick as some others - the latest Zelda game, or Bethesda's games. (Not bad, mind you, but not quite as good.) But the story is very well done, and I think superior to most of the other similar games. Some of the NPCs are exceptionally good.

Does anyone have any tips or things not to miss?

The fish is mute, expressionless. The fish doesn't think because the fish knows everything.

Posts: 53118 | Location: Texas | Registered: February 10, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Fighting the good fight
Picture of RogueJSK
posted Hide Post
Fantastic game. One of my favorites.

Read your Bestiary. There are certain combinations of spells/potions/oils that are more effective against certain beasts. Using the right trick can turn a tough fight into an easy one.

You'll want to specialize in one style with your level up bonuses: sword/spells/alchemy. You can dabble a little bit on the occasional extra, but focus primarily on whichever one you like best. If you try to spread yourself out and be middling at everything, you'll be weaker and it will make the game tougher.

If you want to complete all the Gwent-related quests, you really have to be a Gwent whore. Buy every Gwent card you come across. Play cards every chance you get. Talk to every NPC, to see if you can play Gwent with them. Play against each NPC until you stop winning cards from that person, and just start winning random components or items, which signifies that there are no more cards that you can win from them. Then move on to the next player. You'll not only need that practice for the harder, later Gwent opponents, but playing and winning cards is the only way to get some of the higher-powered cards necessary to win against the tougher opponents.