SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lair    Ghost in the Shell: review with no spoilers
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ghost in the Shell: review with no spoilers Login/Join 
Charmingly unsophisticated
Picture of AllenInAR
posted
JUst got back from watching the last matinee showing off GitS and figured I'd share my opinions. My credentials....

The gap to the left of GitS:SAC is where the original movie BR goes but I lent it to a coworker (and please note to the left is my import GitS: Innocence Bluray).

I have no experience with the manga.

Okay, so the movie is just a hair over two hours. PG-13, so no gratuitous sex and violence. Tons of eye candy (ScarJo in skinsuits aside) and lots of nods to the original movie. You even get a glimpse of Tosuga's Mateba and Saito's iSniper rifle (or is that "eyeSniper?").

This is not a remake of the original using live people, though it does borrow heavily from it. It's almost an origin story, and it (IMHO) deviates majorly (no pun intended) from the original. It also explains why ScarJo's Kusanagi sometimes comes off as a little confused and perplexed.

It still annoys the crap out of me when they say "Major" like it's her first name. And if memory serves, in one scene she straight up says "My name is Major and I give my consent."

Gun fights and HTH had potential, but the scenes were usually fairly dark and the scenes had many cuts. But they did reloads and it sounded cool, so I was okay with it.

Anyway....I think people with no GitS experience will find this an okay sci-fi movie. GitS fans will either say "Well, it wasn't the disaster 'Starship Troopers' was to its source material." or they will shred it for all the ways it's NOT like the source material. Both are right. Though they touched on some of the heavy topics of memory, being human, etc. it was a VERY light touch. LOL But I didn't feel like I wasted $8.

The artist formerly known as AllenInWV