SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lair    Favorite Jazz album Post here
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Favorite Jazz album Post here Login/Join 
Eschew Obfuscation
posted Hide Post
Great thread. I'm a jazz newbie, but have been spending a lot of time listening the last year or so.

A couple of my favorites:

Stardust: The Music Of Hoagy Carmichael
by Bill Charlap

Night Train
by The Oscar Peterson Trio

Love Stone
by JD Allen

“Civilization is not inherited; it has to be learned and earned by each generation anew; if the transmission should be interrupted for one century, civilization would die, and we should be savages again." - Will Durant

Posts: 6395 | Location: Chicago, IL | Registered: December 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Hold Fast
Picture of Butch 2340
posted Hide Post
Kind of Blue released on this day in 1959.

Never shoot a large caliber man with a small caliber bullet . . .

Posts: 7632 | Location: Georgia  | Registered: May 16, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of UpTheIrons
posted Hide Post
Mine would be Barney Kessel's Autumn Leaves album.

“I used to be totally into Steve Vai and Joe Satriani and other shredders, and I tried to emulate what they did and really grow as a guitarist,” Mr. Hanneman said in “Louder Than Hell.” “Then I said, ‘I don’t think I’m that talented, but more important, I don’t care.’ ”

Posts: 1726 | Location: Arizona Territory | Registered: February 22, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Freddy Hubbard--- First Light

Posts: 59 | Location: jackson, California | Registered: April 15, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Uppity Helot
posted Hide Post
4-sight. A One time collaboration, from 1998 of 4 young (at the time) post bop musicians that got some praise initially but then faded into obscurity.

A lot of jazz greats have already been deservedly mentioned in this thread but few know of this hidden gem.

https://www.allmusic.com/album/4-sight-mw0000599466